What we made today: August 24th, 2012

by Chad Sansing

Always design with your students

Always design with your students

This week I asked kids to design covers for their journals. I also asked them to design new surfaces and storage for their workspaces. I introduced and posted some basic design vocabulary to help get us thinking. Then I got out of the way.

We aren’t fluent yet with design, but I’ve started using our new words in conferences about kids’ workspace sketches.

Here are some examples of students’ journal covers. Please note that we bought the construction paper and other craft supplies, including the patterned sheets of paper. We recycle cardboard, and kids make their own stencils unless otherwise noted.

A pop-up cover

A pop-up cover

A googley cover

A googley cover

An eye-stalk cover

An eye-stalk cover

A righteous cover

A righteous cover

An in-progress reinforced cardboard cover

An in-progress reinforced cardboard cover

A cover with ears

A cover with ears

A stenciled cover - before

A stenciled cover – before

A stenciled cover - after

A stenciled cover – after

A disassembled cover - before

A disassembled cover – before

A re-assembled cover - after

A re-assembled cover – after

A crafty cover

A crafty cover

Next week I hope to share out some photos of the workspace project as it takes shape. Most kids just finished their journal covers today.

I want kids to trust me when I say that this is “our classroom.” I want them to take the space from me – and I want them to do their work, not mine. That they’re already thinking about their own aesthetics and making decisions about style and organization can only help our compositions from here. That they’re remixing our physical materials and space can only help them understand and make connections to our digital work later.

